The Strangers’ Sanctum

“We stopped looking for monsters under our bed when we realized that they were inside us.”

–   Charles Darwin

I have a few friends with insomnia. They talk about the overwhelming fear of being awake at night – how the thought of everyone else in the world sleeping is the most lonely feeling you could ever feel. I started there. I wanted to explore that.

This was also a chance to explore some of the depths of my own anxiety and personify the conflicts within my own headspace. Not to say this is strictly self-expression, but more an embracing of that struggle, generally speaking.

Film has always been a huge passion of mine, and this particular project was a culmination of months of little thoughts, ideas, and sentiments.

I don’t want to insult the intelligence of anyone or devalue the artistic integrity of this by sharing what this project “means” (at least, what it means to me), so I won’t do that. Since many have asked, however, I’ll share some of the broad concepts/inspirations that I was drawn to throughout this process:

–        Classical music

–        Anxiety / Insomnia / real human fears

–        Consumerism – is it a religion?

–        Self-actualization

–        Embracing paradox / the absurd

–        Masks

–        Clickbait culture / sensationalism / media / content overload

–        Unity / Inclusion / Equality / “Danse Macabre”

This blog was started as an outlet for experimental creative expression – and I’ve wanted to try as many mediums as I can. Creating is an incredibly fulfilling hobby for me and I encourage others who have ideas/dreams to pursue them. We shot this on October 1st and it was some of the most fun that I’ve ever had.

I want to thank all my friends that made this possible – especially Isaac Boyd, who was brave enough to trust my vision for this. They all sacrificed their time and energy to make this a reality for me.

jojos-film-folie-161001-105

jojos-film-folie-161001-098

jojos-film-folie-161001-054a

Anthony Diaz is an incredibly talented videographer from UW Milwaukee, introduced to me through my very good friend Donald – check out Anthony’s other work on his Vimeo page: https://vimeo.com/antrobdiaz

Going forward, I definitely want to take my film interest further. I have extremely talented friends – and I am interested in collaborating with any of you in any capacity. If anyone is interested in acting / shooting / writing / etc…, shoot me a message and I’ll keep you in mind for future projects.

jojos-film-folie-161001-209

Leave a comment