A Open Letter From Harambe, The Guerrilla

final
Hello from the other side.

Much has been made of me in recent weeks. The issue is very convoluted. Everyone is terrified to be on the wrong side of any given layer here.

..

Are you angry about my death?
Embrace that you are a tree-hugging, baby killer who inadvertently supports 3,000 daily abortions.
Are you angry at the mom of that child?
Embrace that you are an intolerant / ignorant racist.
Are you angry at people who are angry about this?
Embrace that you are a Trump-loving, animal hater who gets off to writing long winded Facebook posts calling out the public’s ‘hypocrisy’.
 …
Are you angry at zoos?
Embrace that you hate education and conservation efforts.
Don’t let any of that scare you though. Proliferate, quantify, and embrace the movement. Keep getting angry.
Do you want me to be a gender fluid / nonconforming pan sexual? By all means.
Do you want to view me as a black American and my death as another instance of police brutality? Who am I to stop you.
I am now merely a trope, the star of your meme, and your political platform.
I am whatever you want me to be.
…,,,
Every depiction and write-up of me is self-serving, including this blog post.
Still, diversify the conversation. Impress your friends on your opinion of me.
Keep posting. Keep exploiting me.
Let me drive up the ratings on your 7 o’clock news hour.
You did not know me and I did not know you, but together we can change the world.

I am not a gorilla. I am a guerrilla.

Do not cry at my funeral. Do not let me rest in peace. Kick, scream, and get mad as hell.

Love,
 Harambe.
This think piece, illustration, and entire controversy is sponsored and staged by 
The Legend Of Tarzan ™. 
Don’t miss Tarzan when he swings into a theater near you this July!
Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 8.29.26 PM

Leave a comment