Yopp!

horton

A display of self-expression! The most beautiful of all things!

My words paint vivid pictures, they will give this post it’s wings.

Talk, preach, bark like a dog –

sing, tweet, start your own blog.

A message is a message, no matter how small.

Go share yours with the masses, to every city sprawl.

It’s not that hard. Just look at Drake, the rapper and the king!

You could reach millions with the simplest of mantras, as silly as ‘hotline bling’.

bitch

………

Reality soon sets in, like a swift kick to the nuts.

A cruel, dark world we live in, a truth that deeply cuts.

A message is a message, no matter how small.

That is, until you spot the audience: no one at all.

No listening ear is given, far much less, a care.

We’re all selfish assholes, who internally will stare.

A tree falls in a desolate forest, does it offer up a sound?

I’m tempted to stop typing. These words will not be found.

I will die and be forgotten, with jack shit to show.

Looking at my hourglass, the sand will flow and flow.

Money, pleasure, and power. These are the things I should follow?

Play the games that grownups play. The blue pill is sure a tempting swallow.

I’m no good at those games. Words are all I own.

Sure, I’m just as selfish. My motive is now known.

But let me state my peace, a memo to impart.

Let’s shift this to a hopeful tone, the one I teased at the start.

No one is listening, but who gives a freaking damn.

Seeking approval of others is of life’s biggest shams.

Venture into the world with the INTENTION of being unheard.

At last you’ll find liberation in an embracing of the absurd.

rock and roll

The world is sitting on an elephant’s nose.

The fruit of your effort may never disclose.

My name is JoJo and I’m done playing with my yoyo.

jojo

By sharing this on Facebook, I scream from the tower: “YOPP!”

But after no *likes* and only one comment, the post is a total flop.

Society please accept me. I’ll delete this link right away!

But that comment will always haunt me: “dude ur fucking gay.”

I guess a message is a message, no matter how rudely stated by a ‘friend’.

And it taught me: no more self-expression! and the rhymes must come to an end.

2 thoughts on “Yopp!

Leave a comment